A show that will take you to the moon and back

I am a selenophile. I love anything connected with the moon. My penchant for the moon started when I was in grade school when Sailor Moon was a big hit then. My watch, earrings, bags and other stuff were all moon-related. I even created a playlist about the moon. To this date, I still feel elated with anything moon stuff.

Last Saturday, I watched “Mula Sa Buwan.” A musical show adapted from the well-loved play Cyrano de Bergerac. It was magically adapted, written and directed by Pat Valera.

Mula Sa Buwan retells the story in 1940s Manila, among young ROTC and blushing colegialas. Mula Sa Buwan shows the innocence and beauty of our nation where music, harana, kundiman, wit, passion, and hope abound! However, when World War II strikes, virtue, honor, and love are all tested—the young now forced to suddenly..grow up.

I was surprised to see colorful and beautiful ensemble and as I watched the musical, my heart is proudly screaming that we Filipinos can also produce a world-class act.

The songs are originally written by Pat Valera and William Elvin Manzano. I blamed the show for giving me last song syndrome especially “Ang Sabi Nila” and KL Dizon’s flawless humming in “Awit ni Roxanne.” Each song’s lyrics represent emotions through the eyes of the characters.

Mula Sa Buwan stars Nicco Manalo as Cyrano alternating Boo Gabunada; KL Dizon as Roxanne; and Edward Benosa as Christian alternating Fred Lo.

Mula Sa Buwan runs from February 18 to 26 at Henry Lee Irwin Theater, Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City. Tickets, priced at P600 and P800, are available through ticketworld.com.ph.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

